This site is easier to read in landscape format on mobiles.

An Evening with Jenn Ashworth and Benjamin Webster celebrating the launch of Hometown Tales


Hometown Tales Lancashire Cover
Hometown Tales Lancashire Cover
Waterstones King Street
Jenn Ashworth, Benjamin Webster
North West Literary Arts

Join us for a free event with readings from Jenn Ashworth and Benjamin Webster, book chat, and light refreshments.
Hometown Tales: Celebrating regional voices
Two powerful pieces of fiction set in Preston and Manchester
Original tales by remarkable writers

Hometown Tales is a series of books pairing exciting new voices with some of the most talented and important writers at work today. Some of the tales are fiction and some are narrative non-fiction - they are all powerful, fascinating and moving, and aim to celebrate regional diversity and explore the meaning of home.
In these pages on Lancashire, you'll find two unique tales. 'After the Funeral, the Crawl' is an arresting portrait of a couple forced to confront a dark secret over the course of a pub crawl one night in Preston, by award-winning novelist Jenn Ashworth. JUDAS! is a vivid, coming-of-age story that traces the political and cultural history of Manchester, from its industrial past to its eventual separation from the county, by Benjamin Webster.

Biographical Notes

Jenn Ashworth was born in 1982 in Preston. She studied English at Cambridge and since then has gained an MA from Manchester University, trained as a librarian and run a prison library in Lancashire. She now lectures in Creative Writing at the University of Lancaster. Her first novel, A KIND OF INTIMACY, was published in 2009 and won a Betty Trask Award. Her second, COLD LIGHT, was published by Sceptre in 2011 and she was chosen by BBC's The Culture Show as one of the twelve Best New British Novelists. Her most recent novels are THE FRIDAY GOSPELS and FELL. She lives in Lancaster.
Born in Lancashire and now living in Yorkshire, Benjamin Webster received the Northern Writers' Award for fiction in 2016. JUDAS! is his first published work.