This site is easier to read in landscape format on mobiles.

Volunteer Achievement Awards 2012 Announced

John Freeman
CVS Awards 2011. Image courtesy Lancaster District CVS
Do you know someone who gives their time for free and takes pride in their local community? Volunteers in the Lancaster district will have their hard work recognised at an awards ceremony in June.

And organisers of the event are asking for nominations of the people who volunteer their time to support others.

The Volunteer Achievement Awards 2012 is run by Lancaster District CVS, and celebrates the enthusiasm and dedication of local volunteers.

Last year CVS had 24 group, 50 volunteer of the year nominations and winners were Ann Shaw as Volunteer of the Year from Thumbprint, an organisation which enables people with learning disabilities to set up and run their own projects; and Bob Raby from Signposts, which supports the local community on a wide range of issues including housing and health benefits.

The Young Volunteer of the Year - a new category - was awarded to Daniel Hunter from Morecambe and District Junior Anglers, which aims to teach coarse angling and raise awareness of conservation and wildlife issues for those aged 8-16.

Nominations for 2012 are welcomed in five categories, with prizes including free entry to local museums and attractions.

All nominees and guests are invited to the ceremony, which is a unique opportunity to encourage volunteers to continue their hard work and inspire others to become involved in volunteering. 

You can nominate people under the following categories;
  • Trustee of the Year
  • Young volunteer of the Year (18 and under)
  • Community Pride Volunteer
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Group nominations
Each nominee will receive a certificate, and winners will receive the prizes, donated by Lancaster City and Lancashire County Council, including a 12 month Xplorer Pass, unlimited free entry in museums across Lancashire; a Salt Ayre Sports Centre Family Inflatable Session two adults and two children; and free admission to the Butterfly House at Williamson Park

• The deadline for nominations is Friday 18th May 2012 and the ceremony will take place on Wednesday 6th June 2012, 4-7pm at Lancaster Town Hall.   
• Visit for nomination forms and further information.