This site is easier to read in landscape format on mobiles.

Lancaster Maritime Museum

Lancaster Maritime Museum, Custom House, St George's Quay, Lancaster LA1 1RB

Telephone: 01524 382264

Explore Lancaster’s golden age and rich maritime and natural history.

Lancaster Maritime Museum occupies two historic buildings on St. George's Quay, the city’s main 18th-century harbour.

It was opened in 1985 and has won many awards. The former Custom House of 1764, designed by Richard Gillow, contains displays on the history of the Port of Lancaster and the local fishing industry, with a gallery for exhibitions.

In the adjacent warehouse are displays on the Lancaster Canal and the ecology of Morecambe Bay.

Several preserved vessels are also displayed, including Sir William Priestley and Coronation Rose.

It also features exhibits on the history of Morecambe Bay and the old, tidal cross-bay coachroad.

There is a regular programme of family friendly events. 

There is a cafeteria and shop and parking is available at the rear.

Opening times and admission:

Please see the Lancashire Museums website for current opening times and admission charges.

The museum is open daily. Admission is free for local residents (with proof of address).


The museum is fully accessible to all visitors with lift access to the upper floors. We regret that on some occasions access may need be limited to upper levels to ensure visitor safety in the event of an emergency. Please call or email the museum for more details before your visit.