This site is easier to read in landscape format on mobiles.

Brodsky Quartet: Opening Concert

Great Hall, Lancaster University
Brodsky Quartet
Lancaster Arts


TANAKA At the Grave of Beethoven
SHOSTAKOVICH Quartet No. 4 in D, Op.83
J.S. BACH The Art of Fugue Nos. 1 & 6
MENDELSSOHN Fugue from Four Pieces, Op.81
BEETHOVEN Grosse Fuge, Op.133

We're thrilled that our dear friends the Brodsky Quartet will open the Lancaster concerts season for us. Their commission by the celebrated Japanese composer Karen Tanaka takes inspiration from Beethoven's youthful Opus 18 and challenges us in our anxious and tense contemporary lives to seek serenity and peace. The second half is a celebration of the Fugue. The creative use of counterpoint in the hands of the greatest masters - Bach, Mendelssohn & Beethoven - is not simply technical wizardry but music of incredible intensity and emotional energy which will lift you off your seat!

  • 6.45pm Foyer Music
  • Tickets: £20.50 – £9.50

If you are interested, feel free to book here!

Call our boxoffice: 01524 594151 (Monday–Friday, 12pm–5pm), or email our boxoffice: