This site is easier to read in landscape format on mobiles.

Mourholme Local History Society

Until the nineteenth century the Warton parish contained the townships of Borwick, Carnforth, Priest Hutton, Silverdale, Warton, Yealand Redmayne and Yealand Conyers. They lie in the extreme north-west of Lancashire, abutting modern day Cumbria.

Our studies concern the history of these seven villages - one of which, Carnforth, grew into a small town.

We look at all aspects of local history - agricultural, manorial, social, industrial - as well as an examination of some of its prominent families.

Meetings are held in Yealand Village Hall at 7.30 p.m. Full membership can be obtained at any meeting, or visitors are welcome to attend any single meeting for a fee of £2.

Each year's events are organised to run from September through to the April of the following year, on the fourth Wednesday of the month (excepting December - which is held on the second Thursday).



Listing Type: